Education Programme

The Little Lights Education Programme

Working with local schools

The Little Lights Education programme links to the Curriculum for Excellence with all participating schools being provided with a creative learning resource pack for teachers. The pack contains a programme of study designed to complement teaching of numerous subjects including; the history and development of lighthouses; a link to the sea e.g renewables and wider energy sector, maritime; cell biology and personal resilience; physical health and emotional wellbeing.

Our Little Lights participants have been very busy over the past few months learning about lighthouses, the North Sea, as well as physical and emotional wellbeing.  They’ve also been getting creative in the classroom designing and painting their little lighthouse sculpture!

We have 75 Little Lights participants, and we can’t thank them enough for being involved with Light the North and helping to raise funds and awareness for Clan Cancer Support.

The Little Lighthouses will go on display in public exhibitions as part of the Light the North Trail.

Introducing our  Little Lights participants…

20th Aberdeen Boys Brigade
Abbotswell School
Aberdeen City Music School (Boarding)
Aberdeen Grammar School
ABility Shetland
Aith Junior High School
Arduthie School
Ballater Primary School
Bell’s Brae
Boddam Primary School
Brimmond School
Buckie High School
Cluny Primary School
Culter School
Dounby Community School
Fernielea School
Fraserburgh Academy
Fraserburgh North School
Fraserburgh South Park
Fyvie Primary School
Hanover Street School
Hill of Banchory
Hillside School
Hopeman Primary School
Insch Primary School
Inverallochy School
Keith Primary School
Kemnay Academy
Kemnay Primary School
Kingswells School
Kintore Primary School
Lochpots School
Lossiemouth High School
Manor Park School
Meethill Primary
Meldrum School
Middleton Park Primary
Midmill School
Muirfield Primary School
New Deer School
New Machar School
Newburgh Mathers Primary School
Newmill Primary School
Newtonhill Primary School
Ollaberry Primary
Orchard Brae School
Oyne School
Papdale Primary School
Pitmedden School
Portlethen Primary School
Portsoy Primary
Quarryhill Primary
Rathen School
Rayne North School
Riverbank School
Robert Gordon’s College
Rothiemay Primary
Sanday Community School
Scalloway Primary School
Skene Square Primary School
St Andrews Primary School Fraserburgh
St Joseph’s RC Primary
St Machar Academy
St Thomas RC Primary
Strathburn Primary
Stromness Primary School
Tingwall Primary School
Tough Primary School
Tullos Primary
Westfield School
Westhill Primary School
Whalsay School

Light The North

Light The North